LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

sudheer Nair (CMD)     20 May 2010

Code of Criminal Procedure 311

Hi! I am new in this platform and its my pleasure to be here with all of you!

In a negotiable instrument act 138, (in Trial Court) the compalinant submitted his affidavit and crossed by Accused Lawer. as a Witness (CW-1)  Accused given 313 statement, accused also crossed by compalinants lawer. Matter is kept for arguments. Compalinant is now filing an application for recalling him ofr giving evidence under Crpc 311, just to submit some additional documents. Is it maintainable?

Regards!

Learning

14 Replies

G. ARAVINTHAN (Legal Consultant / Solicitor)     20 May 2010

Maintainable if the reasons stated in the affidavit is agreed by the accused and Court

N.K.Assumi (Advocate)     20 May 2010

Yes, the court can recall the witness to do justice to the case.

PJANARDHANA REDDY (ADVOCATE & DIRECTOR)     20 May 2010

YES, IF THE COURT BELIEVES IT IS APROPRIET TO CONSIDER THE 311 ORAL AND DOC EVIDENCES ARE NECESSARY ,EVEN AFTER 313.

Arvind Singh Chauhan (advocate)     20 May 2010

Re examination of witness- object- purpose is only to get the clarification of some doubt created in cross examination- one can not supplement the in chief by way of reexamination and for the first time, start introducing totally new facts which have no concern with cross examination- SC-NCC-2009-897.

It is well settled that no party can take advantage of it’s own wrong and if power is exercised under this section to enable the prosecution to plug in the holes in its case- The afore said principle would be given a good by- BOM- Cr.L.J.-1996-365,368.

Prosecution can not be allowed to fill up lacuna by filing application under Sec 311 and examine a witness in support of a document. Defect in prosecution case can’t be cured by marking of a document at belated stage and examining witness in support thereof –Cr.L.J.2000-Mad-624.