LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Curious (studying)     18 January 2014

Without will + lived seperately + death

I am a student. I want to discuss a case & Want answer from you.

Example: Husband-Mr.H & Wife-Mrs.W are living Separately since say 12 years(say from 1994). H tries many times to W to live together but there was no Response from her. Suppose H dies after some time(say in 2011) without will. 

what will be consequences,if he lives in a flat ( assume that no nomination being done) & now their relatives wants the flat. To add more Complications, I want to add that wife is not traceable. & H's brothers & sisters wants ownership of flat with mutual consent.

Can we place a ground of divorce if she tries to claim on flat.I want to ask that can it be treated as divorce? because they are living from each others for atleast 12 years.

Learning

5 Replies

Laxmi Kant Joshi (Advocate )     18 January 2014

You mean husband and wife had no childrens also , if the husband died without making will his wife , mother and children were the legal heirs , if her wife is not traceable or no one had seen her seven or more than 7 years , and they had no childrens , the mother of the deceasd is the legal heir if she already died then father of the deceased is legal heir of his property or if he also died then the brother and sister of the deceased are legal theirs of his property .

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     19 January 2014