Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Aggarwal_IT (Manager)     07 December 2012

Legal procedure to lend money

Hi,

I am a US based NRI and looking to start an IT professional training related business with a person in Bangalore. The person in India needs a 2 Lakhs loan from me for 2 months for this business.

I am not a professional lender and the person whom I am looking to lend money is NOT my friend or relative. I found his contact on an internet website and have been speaking with him for around 4 to 5 months over phone and e-mail. Although, I have the feeling that this person is genuine, I have NEVER met him in person.

1. Can I legally lend money to him, given I am not a professional lender and the person I am looking to lend is NOT a friend?

2. It has been advised on this legal forum to lend money by check instead of lending money in cash.

If I lend money by online money transfer from my bank account to his bank account, would it be same as lending money by check?

3. He is wiling to give me interest for this loan. One of the discussion forums mentioned that a few states have made rules on the max. rate of interest to be charged even by private parties. Since the borrower is based in Karnataka, what is the max. rate rule for Karnataka (if any)?

4. Can you send a template for the promissory note? Since I am not in India right now, I have to rely on him to make the promissory note. What is the process to execute a promissory note and can it be done without my physical presence? How can I verify whether the promissory note prepared by him is genuine?

5. One of the discussion forums suggested to ask borrower for an undated check as an additional security. The borrower has offered to give me a post dated check. Would the post dated check be as good as an undated check, or would there be an added benefit of an undated check over a post dated check?

Best Regards!

Learning

4 Replies