Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sandeep (IT)     07 May 2012

Placement of dg set overlooking my balcony

Hello All,

I live in Bangalore. I have been staying at my self-owned apartment for over 6 years now. I stay inthe ground floor of my apartment block.

A private luxury row houses is being constructed overlooking my apartment block. Infact my balconys open to these buildings. For the last 3+ years contruction is on. We have been subjected to heavy noise and dust polluton all this while but we have not complained about it too much hoping that this would end soon.

However recently (about a month ago), the builder (a reputed builder in bangalore) has placed a 250KVA DG set bang opposite my apartment. So all the balconys of my flat overlook this. This includes my living room, kitchen and children's balcony. This DG set is hardly about 20-25 feet away. The problem is, the DG set is placed in such a way that there is no provision for any wall around it. The supervisor tells me that the it has acoustic enclosure and this is good enough. But i strongly believe that 250KV DG set is bound to give out a lot of noise and i will be directly impacted by this. Further they refuse to move this or do anything to reduce the noise pollution saying that it wont create too much noise.

None of the row houses are directly impacted by this DG set. Only my apartment and a couple of apartments above mine will be directly impacted. I strongly feel that the builder has blatantly violated all rules in establishing this area for the Genset.

I would like to ask the esteemed members here as to what are my recourse for action. Is there any special court who i can approach or civic bodies whom I can contact to plead my case.

Thanks for your time.

Sandeep

Learning

4 Replies

Alkesh Agrawal (Advocate)     07 May 2012

Sir,