LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

josh777_123 (n/a)     12 February 2009

Got notice from income tax office , how to respond

I am living in chennai since 2004 and have been filing my IT returns from chennai since 2005.
Recently  mumbai Income tax office sent a notice to my mumbai home address to be present in their office and present the IT returns for assessement year 2005-2006(I got my PAN from mumbai since my permanent address is mumbai address)
The time to be present in the mumbai IT office is already lapsed.It was supposed to be on 16th jan 2009 but when i visited the last week of January I came to know about it.
Now I am back in chennai, Now what should I do ?
1) should I ignore the notice since i have already filed IT returns for AY 2005-2006 in chennai ?
2) should I sent the copy of IT returns for AY 2005-2006 by registered post to the mumbai income tax office ?
3) Any other solution to the above issue ?

Thanks
Josh

Learning

12 Replies

A V Vishal (Advocate)     12 February 2009

Dear Josh:

Nothing to worry since you are filing your returns in Chennai. Anyway, you send a reply to the notice explaining him the facts along with a copy of the Income Tax  return for the assessment year in question. Also, copy of the notice sent by the ITO must be enclosed along with your reply. . If you have friends or family in Mumbai ask them to visit the concerned Tax office and file the reply in person in the Inward section and obtain an acknowledgement. In case there is no one who can do it for you at Mumbai, I suggest you send the reply  as a registered Acknowledge ment Due post, Don't send it by courier. The notice sent to you is routine and hence no need to panic. I advise that you must have your address changed in the Income Tax records for change in the current address by filing a 49 A for correction in data. This will suffice the matter.

josh777_123 (n/a)     12 February 2009