Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Soumyajit Sarkar   04 May 2021

Is prescribing cannabis products as a doctor legal in india?

Im a doctor and planning to join as a teleconsultant in a website that sells medical cannabis oil, based in India. I would have to provide prescripttions for valid patients coming to the website. From what internet tells me, medical cannabis products containing THC less than 0.3 percent are legal in India. They state they produce everything from hemp, which is legal, but they contain a few products with high thc percentage.

Can I face issues in future for working here? Thanks in advance.

Learning

7 Replies

yasaswi gomes (.)     04 May 2021

Business is a legal entity. Yes, you can work as long as you are working for legal entity. 

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     05 May 2021

Consult and engage a local prudent lawyer for appreciation of facts/ documents, professional advise and necessary proceeding.

G.L.N. Prasad (Retired employee.)     05 May 2021

File RTI Application and seek such information from the Indian Medical Association or Ministry of Health.

Rama chary Rachakonda (Secunderabad/Highcourt practice watsapp no.9989324294 )     05 May 2021

Get information of Indian council rules, through R.T.I. as brother lawyer suggested above. In the US, the F.D.A. has approved two oral cannobinoids for use as medicine, dronabinol and nabilone. Dronabinol, sysnthetic. THC , is listed as schedule II Nabilone, a synthetic cannabinoid is also  schedule II, indicating high potential for side effects and addiction. 

Pradipta Nath (Advocate)     05 May 2021

Better to go for RTI.

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     05 May 2021