Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

INDRANIL BANERJEE   25 April 2021

Harassment and Discriminatory Treatments Whilst Serving my Notice Period.

I am a School teacher (primary). I submitted my resignation, which was accepted on the same day. I was told that, I'll have to serve the 3 month (90 Calender days) notice period or buy-out it in equivalent pecuniary terms. I told via email that I will serve the notice period. In the backdrop of huge spurt of Corona cases, the teachers are told to work from home and take on-line classes. But I was told to be physically present for 3 days/week and rest of the working days take on-line classes from home. I said repeatedly that, they cannot put my life of my family member's lives in Danger by forcing me to attend school in such a dreadful scenario. The HR, who actually is a puppet of the principal who is extremely vindictive and authoritarian in nature!

Please Help.

Learning

8 Replies

P. Venu (Advocate)     25 April 2021

The facts, as posted,  are confused and lacks clarity. The question of Notice period depends the terms and conditions of your appointment and standing orders of the school, if any.

k.n.VIJAYAKUMAR   25 April 2021

you already have an option to pay 3 months ( if it is in your  appointment terms ) 

in case u do not want to pay this then - u have to work. But take max precaution, wear a PPE kit while working  cover your self .- citing personal safety etc. Keep sanitizing sprays , use them frequently.

No body can force to be unsafe. 

May be u will be relieved fastsmiley

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     26 April 2021

How can the HR / School call only you physically  when other teachers are WFH? 

It is illegal and invalid order. 

Issue notice to withdraw the condition of physical presence in such circumstances.

If still the school / HR insist move to School Tribunal / High Court to set aside such order.