LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

arka   03 January 2021

Import for personal use

I am Arko. I am a drummer. I want to import a few products from USA to India for personal use. The products are. 1) Musical Instruments and Pro Audio(also Accessories like cleaning products which may contain Isopropyle alcohol) 2) Drum shells like https://nordicshells.com/products/true-series-birch-6-ply 3) drilling ,Filing tools , screws , nuts , bolts , screw driver(For Modifying my drum kit) 4) Some metal and wood articles for modifying my drum kit

Learning

7 Replies

SIVARAMAPRASAD KAPPAGANTU (Retired Manager)     03 January 2021

For personal use, you can import such items that are not on the banned list.  As you are intending to import only musical drums, which I am sure are not on the banned list, you can import.  Steps to be taken:

1. Finalize a reliable supplier abroad
  2. Obtain proforma invoice from him clearly giving all the price and the amount to be remitted, currency of the amount and his account and the routing address like SWIFT code of their bank.
  3. Once the proforma invoice is received, you may approach your bank requesting them to send the remittance. You may submit copies of the invoice etc. to the bank. They shall remit the amount.
  4. In case the overseas supplier shall give you credit, you may inform the address of your bank so that the documents shall be sent through the bank.

arka   03 January 2021

I can import anything for personal use which is not in the list of prohibited items. Right?

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     04 January 2021

Originally posted by : arka
I am Arko. I am a drummer. I want to import a few products from USA to India for personal use. The products are.

1) Musical Instruments and Pro Audio(also Accessories like cleaning products which may contain Isopropyle alcohol)

2) Drum shells like https://nordicshells.com/products/true-series-birch-6-ply