BA   02 December 2020

Trademark opposed

Dear esteemed members 1. I had filed a trademark with the ipindiaonline and was already at final stage of approval. 2. It has been Opposed my a attorney of a big company, sighting some similarity in the name. 3. I am a small venture I don't have resource to employ a Attorney to defend my case, so have decided to abandon the matter. 4. Now however they have directly contacted me and they want me to sign an undertaking on non-judiciary stamp paper notarised pledging not to use a name which is similar to theirs. is it lawful for them to ask me to do that? Kindly guide me Thanks of you time I had filed a trademark with the ipindiaonline and was already at final stage of approval. It has been Opposed my a attorney of a big company, sighting some similarity in the name. As I am a small venture I don't have resource to employ a Attorney to defend my case, so have decided to abandon the matter. Now however they have directly contacted me and they want me to sign an undertaking

Pradipta Nath (Advocate)     02 December 2020

It would had been better if you state complete facts, nevertheless please don't sign any affidavit as you have already abandoned.