LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

jhakhmipati   07 April 2018

Is fir necessary for police to issue loc

My question may sound vague but i want to know if LOC is to be issued by Superitendent of Police, do they need to file FIR first ? In my case 498 (a) was filed in police station in 2010 and no FIR has been registered till this date as i have been out of country and my wife has remarried. Police have not filed any chargesheet neither have they filed any FIR but i am afraid that they may have kept this case pending in police station and probably issue LOC against me. The problem is that my smart wife has remarried with someone traditionally and have not solemnise her second marriage on paper. She is already living with that person and i have no problem with it.  But i am stuck thinking over and over about this. Also to share more my wife has withdrawn crpc 125, DV, 406 in court against me but i have no knowledge of 498a  since it was filed in police station. I would appreciate if someone could shed some light on whether or not LOC can be issued without FIR or Chargesheet.

Learning

8 Replies

Vijay Raj Mahajan (Advocate)     07 April 2018

Look out circular (LOC) is issued by the SP or DCP of the concerned Police station only after FIR is registered and the accused is not responding to notice to appear before the IO or is untraceable by the IO of the Police.

jhakhmipati   07 April 2018

Originally posted by : Vijay Raj Mahajan
Look out circular (LOC) is issued by the SP or DCP of the concerned Police station only after FIR is registered and the accused is not responding to notice to appear before the IO or is untraceable by the IO of the Police.

Is there any time limit for police to file a chargesheet in court once the complaint is lodged in police station ?

Kumar Doab (FIN)     07 April 2018

GO thru;

Central Government Act

Section 498A in The Indian Penal Code