Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Helprequired (vv)     01 March 2018

Gratuity and pf payable to consultants (Not from a tax perspective)

Hi, I wanted to know if a consultant will be eligible for gratuity and PF? If yes, under what terms? I have been working as a consultant since 3 years and I want to know if I can claim gratuity and/or PF. It will be of great help for me  Thanks.

Learning

8 Replies

R.Ramachandran (Advocate)     01 March 2018

You have to indicate the nature/kind/type of consultancy being given by you.

Are you in full time employment with the organization?

What is your working timings?

Whenever the organization makes payment to you, are they deducting TDS (tax deduction at source)?

Thank you for your response Sir Ramachandran. My answer to your queries -

1. My work is related to checking product desgins and approving them.

2. Yes employment is full time. I have been working since past 3 years.

3. No specific working timings.

4. Flat TDS is deducted at source 10% irrespective of the salary slab.

R.Ramachandran (Advocate)     01 March 2018

You are not an employee and the Organization is also not treating you as an employee.  Therefore you are not entitled to either PF or Gratuity.

Thank you for your response.

I wanted to bring it to your notice that there is a certain degree of control that is exercised, won't that create an employee - employer realtionship?

My collegue has been working since past 8 years, will she be eligible for PF or Gratuity? Even her role is the same. The contract terminated in between even once and have been contionusly working as a consultant for the same employer. 

It will be ehelpful if there are there any judgements that state "Consultant or Retainers are not entitled to Gratutity or PF" or visa versa. Is there a specific set of guidelines laid down for the same?

I appreciate your help and your impromtu response.