Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Gaurav   22 February 2018

Serving notice period before resignation from psu bank

Hi,

I am a Scale-I officer in a PSU bank. I joined the bank in July 2017. I'm currently under probation.

After joining the bank, I soon found that I couldn't handle the workload as well as the type of work I was allotted. Also, I was posted in a remote village where Naxalites lived.

Therefore, I submitted my resignation letter in September 2017. My exit interview was conducted the next day. I had mentioned in the letter that I was giving 3 months' notice to the Bank. I had also agreed to paying the Security deposit of Rs. 1,00,000/- (Out of which 10,000 had already been paid).

During my notice period, I fell ill and the doctor diagnosed Jaundice. So, I informed my Bank about that and left for home.

It took me fairly long to recover fully. In the meantime, my notice period had passed. I contacted the bank's HR and I was told that my resignation had not been accepted by the Head Office (Mumbai) yet. They told me to send the fitness certificate by email. They said that since I was absent during my notice period, my absence had to be 'regularized' by HR and after that, I'd get my relieving letter.

PLEASE NOTE that I haven't joined the bank even after getting fitness certificate from doctor. This is because my notice period has passed and also because I was told by HR that my resignation would be accepted by HO soon.

However, yesterday I was told by HR that since I was absent during my notice period, my resignation has not been accepted. They told me that I will have to work with the Bank for 3 months from now.

Can they really force me to work for 3 months even though my notice period has already passed?

My appointment letter says,