sandesh trivedi (-)     02 March 2010

overseas investment by llps

Are LLPs registered in India allowed to make investment in the overseas capital markets thru shares listed in those markets particularly in the US stock markets, Nasdaq and dow jones?

Dadi Uma Mahesh (NA)     02 March 2010

Yes LLP`s registered in India and individual Investors can invest in Offshore capital market which include Nasdaq and Dow- Jones Listed Shares, 

All you need to do is open an account with offshore Brokers, approach your Banker who is also a Forex dealer authorized by RBI, fill in Form A2 and Declaration in the Banks respective Format, once this is done you can transfer up to 2 Lakh Dollars in a financial year to your Broker for Offshore Investment.

AEJAZ AHMED (Legal Consultant/Lawyer)     02 March 2010

Dear Trivedi

Kindly go through the following website ......it is a detail answer to query.

Getting Global Through Outbound Investments

https://ezinearticles.com/?Getting-Global-Through-Outbound-Investments&id=3768016

sandesh trivedi (-)     07 March 2010

i am not sure whether LLPs are allowed to invest in foreign capital markets via stocks/shares so can someone please provide some link or notification of RBI which explicitly mentions that LLPs are allowed to invest in foreign capital markets via stocks/shares i.e in foreign stock markets.