seema sharma   15 August 2017

Bank has not credited the cheque amount

sir,

I have issued a cheque to someone on  22-10-2010 and that cheque was dishonoured due to difference in signature.

My bank had debited the amount but not yet credited it after so many years and I have also not noticed it.Now it comes to my knowledge.

please guide me what can be done and what should be my course of action.

15 Replies

Advocate Bhartesh goyal (advocate)     15 August 2017

Approach to banking ombudsman for yo�r grievence.

Kumar Doab (FIN)     15 August 2017

Have you approached bank/BM?

What is banker's response?

G.L.N. Prasad (Retired employee.)     16 August 2017

Issue a  Registered notice under CP Act and seek  certified copy of the cheque no...d Issued to  for Rs..............debited to A/cNo..................on.....................

and copy of the Register showing cheques returned on that day in that account.

Once they realize the mistake, they have to pay with interest.

seema sharma   17 August 2017

it is already six years ,if i file consumer case whether it is time barred  or not

G.L.N. Prasad (Retired employee.)     17 August 2017

Cause of action is the starting point for limitation period.  When you have noticed, and the ongoing correspondence and refusal of the Bank to credit finally makes the difference.  Please kindly go through NCDRC decision against VIjaya Bank for more information.

It all depends on the amount, whether it is proper to proceed further or not.  DCF has a right to relax the limitation period, if you can convince them with genuine reasons.  If you treat that it is hopelessly barred by time, forget about this.

SHIRISH PAWAR, 7738990900 (Advocate)     17 August 2017

Yes you are in limitation. You can also file consumer complaint before consumer forum for better remedy. 

G.L.N. Prasad (Retired employee.)     17 August 2017

The limitation period is two years from the date of ending of cause of action.  In these cases, bank's refusal and notice response, diligence in following up matters in arriving at limitation period.

Kumar Doab (FIN)     17 August 2017

Write to Bank/banker and extract reply.

If you have been asking in person in bank, for correction, mention it.

The contentious issue shall be interest.

Get the principle and  interest part can be handled later.

seema sharma   17 August 2017

I have sent emails to branch as well as head office.but it has been already four days and no any reply from bank. Pls guide what should I do.

Originally posted by : seema sharma
I have sent emails to branch as well as head office.but it has been already four days and no any reply from bank.
Pls guide what should I do.

Go thru; Greivance Redressal System available on website....

Have patience. It has only been 4days.

And matter is 7years old.

In my 1st post I had suggested to approach Bank/banker.

You could aproached in person and attempted to get principle.

Emails and letters could have been written later and can be written any time..............

seema sharma   25 August 2017

thanks all learned members to guide me, 

seema sharma   12 October 2017

Sent letter in sep. But no reply