LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

PRAKASH (MANAGER)     22 February 2010

cheque misplace

dear all advocates, i am a lecturer, i have lost my 4 cheque's with sign in 2006 after that some use this cheque in 2009 and present in my account which is already inoperative but bank return that cheque for reason insufficient fund i sure that cheques is not given by mine and some one threat me for that cheque they make file 138 so can i file FIR in police station against him or what ? please give me suggestion its verry horable for me prakash

Learning

6 Replies

chaitanya khatri (lawyer)     23 February 2010

have u intimate to concern bank about lost my 4 cheque's with sign in 2006? 

Kiran Kumar (Lawyer)     23 February 2010

dear Prakash,

did u inform the bank about such loss?

any FIR or DDR in this context with police?

whether the account was closed or inoperative?  If it was closed then how the bank gave report of insufficient funds?

any financial transaction with the person who presented the cheques?

serial no.s and dates (if any) will be relevant factors.

u may approach police and try to get FIR registered but keep in mind merely registration of FIR will not protect your interest....the police may cancel the FIR if they find no substance in your allegations.

Ashok Yadav (Lawyer)     23 February 2010

I am agree with Mr. Kiran

But you will have to check who is that person, he can file a complaint of sec 138 only if you have taken a legally recoverable loan  from him. If that person person is not known for you and you have no money transactions with him it will be difficult for him to prove the recoverable debt.

ad. creaminall (professional Advocate)     23 February 2010