LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sajida   29 February 2016

Mental Harassment by in laws

Hi I'm a doctor preparing for post graduate entrance exam. I got married in April last year and its a love marriage. My husband teaches music along with his father and earns about 90k per month. My parents wanted me to marry a doctor but I convinced them with lots of efforts. My father is a govt employee and has worked really hard to make me a doctor so it was a very difficult decision for him. My in laws came to know abt me 3yrs before my marriage and started meeting me up again and again as I'm a doctor and not many educated people are there in their family. They acted like they really care about me and used to take me out to expensive restaurants as I was in hostel still pursuing mbbs. My husband was also happy that his family likes me so much. They didn't take any dowry from my dad but made a lot of other demands like very expensive wedding, car and other stuff. Now the problem is with my in laws. They slowly transformed into Devils after marriage. They are extremely possessive about their son so they can't even imagine living separately. My husband has to give all his earnings to his dad because this has been going on since years. In return his dad gives him 500 Rs per week and some other small incentives. They have harassed my husband since childhood by always beating him up for no reason and lots of other things. Now they love him a lot because he's earning and giving them EVERYTHING. My father in law is extremely money minded and he takes all the money earned and stores it in the bank and controls all the money, nobody has the right to all details. There are many accounts on everyone's names and all the cards are with him. To buy any single thing, we need his grudging approval and he acts like we are stealing his money. Just to shut my husband up he keeps giving petty allowances and takes us out for dinner