Amit Kumar Sinha (professional)     05 June 2014

Harrasment and cibil report spoiled by recovery agency

I had taken a credit card from Standard chartered bank in 2001. There were some purchases made on that card for which I did not recieve any bill, however, I paid the amount in time to the best of my memory. At that time I was based in Pune.... The bank sent me a bill six months later which was for Approx. Rs. 8 - 10,000/- . when I called them they informed me that I had made a short payment of Rs. 1000 - 1200/- and the amount including fines is now 8000+ which I need to pay. I informed them that I can pay the actual amount and not the fine since I never recvd. the statements in time to which they were not ready to listen. The I moved from Pune to Delhi and after a year or two the bank guys started chasing me with a demand of Rs. 34000/-. I agreed to meet the recovery fellow in 2004 and he suggested me to settle and close the account.  we agreed on a lumpsum and I paid him in cash and obtained a reciept for the same which I still have. This is a bank reciept with a logo & security seal on it. No one ever called me thereafter and I have taken multiple loans till last year. To my surprise I recieved a recovery call in Feb. 2013 from some Shah & Co. from Pune and they claimed that they have bought the credit recovery from standard chartered bank and I owe over Rs. 4 Lakhs (Rs. 400000 +) plus for non-payment of that dues. I explained them that I've already settled that A/C but they were very abusive. This continued for a month or so but then I could find out the bank reciept from my old docs. and shared with them a scanned copy of the same. Thereafter they did not bother me much except for one or two calls and a threatning Lok-adalat notice which I did not recieve. However, I recently applied for a car loan to SBI and they informed me that my CIBIL shows a pending credit card payment of approx. Rs. 4.25 Lakhs.Till I get my CIBIL cleared, I cannot get a loan. Pls. advise what to do.. If you want I can share the reciept scanned copy with you. pls. suggest a way out of this..... I'm not willing to compromise with the recovery company's undue demand.... whether I get a loan or not... Also advise what are the legal options available with me.

Kumar Doab (FIN)     05 June 2014

Your own approach in your own matter was not proper.

One should not pay cash to recovery agent/agency that too in cash.

One should pay only to bank that too by cheque and under proper acknowledgment and obtain the next showing credit of payment, FnF settlement showing NIL balance and also NOC showing FNF payment.

Now you need to put all the pieces together and explain the whole matter to bank again…………………………

As per various publications M/s Standard Chartered bank shall pass the ball to M/s Shah Finlease and M/s Shaha Finlease shall not settle for less than payment by you.

M/s Standard Chartered bank is liable to supply (not just send) the bill 15days before the due date, as per RBI guidelines  and also to disclose the full details of recovery agent employed and sent by it.

Be prepared to avail the services of a lawyer specializing in such/consumer cases and knock at the doors of DCDRF, police, RBI……………..

Your lawyer may opine that debt is time barred. 

You may find many of the threads on CC relevant;

You may start from:

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/forum/Harrasment-by-icici-banks-recovery-agents-76271.asp#.UUc5U0pFZ_4

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/forum/Standard-chartered-and-shaha-finlease-95120.asp#.Utl35tK6a3Y

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Credit-card-problem--446451.asp#.Utl4H9K6a3Y

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Credit-card-defaulter-time-limitations--446061.asp#.Us7ig9IW1MA

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Credit-card-debt-448106.asp#.UvpMrEeBmXU

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/forum/Standard-chartered-and-shaha-finlease-95120.asp#.Usvvc9IW1MA

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Credit-card-payment-443961.asp#.UsvwjNIW1MA

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/forum/Credit-card-robbery-fraud-in-china-94830.asp#.UsvwUtIW1MA

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Harassment-by-recovery-agents--442841.asp#.UrhGa9IW1MA

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/forum/Salary-account-freeze-without-my-notice-95425.asp#.UswXWNIW1MA

SHAHA FINLEASE CUSTOMER SERVIC (BANKING)     23 March 2019

Dear Customer,

Kindly provide your contact num to assist you on this.

Please feel free to call or write on 8976069758/ customerservice@shahafinlease.com.

Thanks and Regards

Customer Service

Shaha Finlease Pvt Ltd