Manish Singh (Advocate)     29 September 2009

UN will treat caste discrimination as human rights violation

UN set to treat caste as human rights violation

NEW DELHI: If the recent genome study denying the Aryan-Dravidian divide has established the antiquity of caste segregations in marriage, the
ongoing session of the UN Human Rights Council in Geneva looks set to recognize caste-based discrimination as a human rights violation. This, despite India's opposition and following Nepal's breaking ranks on the culturally sensitive issue.

Nepal has emerged as the first country from South Asia -- the region where untouchability has been traditionally practiced -- to declare support for the draft principles and guidelines published by UNHRC four months ago for ``effective elimination of discrimination based on work and descent'' -- the UN terminology for caste inequities.

In a side-event to the session on September 16, Nepalese minister Jeet Bahadur Darjee Gautam said his county welcomed the idea mooted by the UNHRC document to involve ``regional and international mechanism, the UN and its organs'' to complement national efforts to combat caste discrimination. This is radically different from India's stated aversion to the internationalization of the caste problem.

Much to India's embarrassment, Nepal's statement evoked an immediate endorsement from the office of the UN high commissioner for human rights, Navanethem Pillay, a South African Tamil. Besides calling Nepal's support ``a significant step by a country grappling with this entrenched problem itself'', Pillay's office said it would ``like to encourage other states to follow this commendable example''.

The reference to India was unmistakable especially since Pillay had pressed the issue during her visit to New Delhi in March. Pillay not only asked India to address ``its own challenges nationally, but show leadership in combating caste-based discrimination globally''. The granddaughter of an indentured labourer taken to South Africa from a village near Madurai, Pillay recalled that in 2006, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had compared untouchability to apartheid.

Adding to India's discomfiture, Sweden, in its capacity as the president of the Europeon Union, said, ``caste-based discrimination and other forms of discrimination based on work and descent is an important priority for EU''. If this issue continues to gather momentum, UNHRC may in a future session adopt the draft principles and guidelines and, to impart greater legal force, send them for adoption to the UN General Assembly.

The draft principles specifically cited caste as one of the grounds on which more than 200 million people in the world suffer discrimination. ``This type of discrimination is typically associated with the notion of purity and pollution and practices of untouchability, and is deeply rooted in societies and cultures where this discrimination is practiced,'' it said.

Though India succeeded in its efforts to keep caste out of the resolution adopted by the 2001 Durban conference on racism, the issue has since re-emerged in a different guise, without getting drawn into the debate over where caste and race are analogous.

47 Replies

Manish Singh (Advocate)     29 September 2009

it would be great after getting implemented in India since no leader would be able to give speeches discriminating and differentiating castes. this could make a radical change in the general perspective towards castes and all that.  but unfortunately, our Indian leaders are opposing such move.. so pathetic..  

Paper theories. Politicians won't bother a bit and continue to whip up caste tensions for getting EVM's stolen [a substitute for booth capturing]. As Vinod Dua pointed out yesterday on TV that people have no confidence in any government, so government eliminates people[Rotting food grains are allowed to rot but not given to the poor and hungry].

"Har shaakh pe ULLU baithe hain, Anjaam-E-Gulistan kya hoge"... Allama Iqbaal

Recent decision of Lucknow Bench of UP HC is an example.

Concocted stories taken into consideration.  Some day our courts will "decide" that - "Yes, Brahmins are born from the head of Brahma, Chhatriya born from the chest of Brahma,  Vaishyas born from the stomach of Brahma and Shoodras born from the bottom of legs of Brahma.  And evidence will be considered "The faith". 

Bhartiya No. 1 (Nationalist)     12 October 2010

Though India succeeded in its efforts to keep caste out of the resolution adopted by the 2001 Durban conference on racism, the issue has since re-emerged in a different guise, without getting drawn into the debate over where caste and race are analogous.

Had this happened India would have suffered a lot.

Actually or In fact it is like racial discrimination, a complete inhuman act. These things should not happen especially in this era; we are living in 21st century and how/why it is being allowed is not understandable. Our mindset or psyche needs a drastic change; unfortunately the pace is very slow.  

After implementation of UN resolution, will caste based census be allowed?

Caste based census is very much important to kmow the facts of their present position of progress and it will also underline the % and monopoly of brahmns in governance & administration. 

Manish Singh (Advocate)     15 October 2010

but once we see all humans as equals, we dont need any caste census. why to discriminate over catses/creed /religion. afer all we are all humans and these discriminations are made by us only. theres no catse creed or sth in pther animals then why we suffer from this social disease.

had reservations be made on the basis of economical grounds, caste system would ve gotten a major setback..bt this didint happen since leaders would have lost their playground..we need to get over these things. 

Dear manish ji, We are just agreed to your say but castism is in our society like cancer and till when it is not removed with its root equality will be impossible. You can see the Brahminwaad is also in judiciary. See the recent judgment of Lucknow Bench of UP HC. When they are saying that "Yes, Brahmins are born from the heads of Brahma and Shoodras born from his legs since it is a faith in Hinduism" how could you see that equality will be measured for all. I only see that till when Hinduism with Brahmanwaad will not be thrown in deep sea till than reservation and special protection will be required for ignored people. 60 years lapsed but "HAR SHAAKH PE ULLU BAITHE HAIN..." SO IT SHOULD BE OUR PRIORITY TO REMOVE THESE ULLUs FIRST. After that there will be no need for caste census.

To fight with such kind of favourism by the Brahamanwad minded people who are everywhere in governance & administration I am being forced to call up the ignored people to be united and go with muslims or with any other religion.  

Than only people can say that;

"GARV SE KAHTE HAI KI HAM EQUAL CITIZENS HAIN KYONKI HAMSHOODRA NAHI HAIN KYONKI HAM HINDU NAHI HAIN."    

No other option available and this is the way to come out of Hinduism & Brahmanwaad and than only our democracy can be implemented.

Anyone please convince me if any other option is available to implement our democracy to achieve equality.  I am open minded and ready for any discussion.  My eyes & mind are not closed with any blind faith.  So please lead me on the lighted path.  I cannot consider that "Brahmins are born from the Head of Brahma and Shoodras are born from his legs.   OK, convince me how it has been happened?  Anyone have "JUSTIFIED" answer OTHER THAN A CONSPIRED BLIND FAITH for exploitation of people?   

IT THE TIME GIVING A WAKE UP CALL TO ALL OF US TO COME OUT OF CASTISM AND SAVE OUR IDENTITY AS A DEMOCRATIC INDIA AND A DEMOCRATIC INDIAN. OTHERWISE WE CANNOT AFFORD IF GONE BACK IN OLD TIME OF "RAJAs & MAHARAJAs" and MOGAL BAADSHAAHs. IF NOT COMING OUT OF CASTISM THE EXPLOITED PEOPLE WILL GO IN OTHER RELIGION AND EVERYDAY IT IS HAPPENING. IF ONE CANNOT OPEN EYES TO SEE THIS IT IS THEIR CHOICE TO BE THROWN IN DEEP SEA AND THE DAY IS COMING VERY FAST. WISH YOU ALL THE BEST.

Bhartiya No. 1 (Nationalist)     15 October 2010

Caste system is being pursued and utilized or being pulled on by the politicians (mainly by scoundrels) for the reason best known to us. Since evil can flourishes only in the dark. In general day to day life it is vanishing. Only in villages situation is worse. It is an age old monster that does not die so easily. The less we talk and analyze about caste system it will be better for us and society for whole.

Dear Mr. Ashutosh, I am not talking about the situation in villages but I am talking about castism and caste atrocity which is still going on smartly by the people seated in governance & administration.  If you have honest observation on day to day conduct of working of upper caste people here, mostly who belong to so called Brahmin caste, they are mostly indulged in favourism and atrocity.  In both the fields inside administration and in the implementation of welfare schemes for reserved castes, it is clearly seen.  Do you deny this?  If you are denying this it is your look out but facts being found saying this loudly. 

While having observation on history of Hinduism (past to present) shows that this is a culture of human rights violation and the human rights violators have no eligibility to sit with the human rights lovers and the human rights organisations should work to remove them out of civil society by throwing them in tribal area and the tribal yet exploited by human rights violators should bring up not only in society but also in governance & administration than only the justice will start to work.