LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

BBA LLB   29 January 2021

Academic query adr

Hi there, I'm a student of law. I'm looking for a suitable answer to clear few of my queries related to ADR, so it's better if someone professionalised in the field can do so. My query is 1.) Are there any other grounds or forms to set aside an Arbitral Award under Arbitration & Conciliation Act 1996? Please provide any relevant case law for reference. 

2.) there is a legal Maxim as "OMNIA PRIUS VERIS EXPERIRI QUAM ARMIS SAPIENTEM" What is the meaning of this legal Maxim? What does it upholds in ADR?

Thank you in advance

Learning

2 Replies

Rohini Kamble   05 February 2021

Section 34 of the Arbitration and conciliation Act, 1996 provides the provisions of certain grounds to set aside an arbitral award. This are as follows 

1. Invalid arbitration agreement. 

2. Improper composition I.e. the arbitral award not in accordance with the agreement of party. 

3. If proper notice is not given to party of arbitral tribunals. 

4. If a party is incapable of making application to enter the agreement. 

For relevant case law please refer National Aluminum  Co. Ltd Vs Presteel Fabrication (p) Ltd. 

'Consilia omnia verbis prius experiri, quam armis sapientem decet.' means it becomes a wise man to try all methods before having recourse arms. A intelligent man would rather negotiate than use arms. 

To negotiate means to resolve disputes by mutual understanding or agreement where no third party is involved. Negotiation is a contemporary mode to resolve disputes. 

Nirali Nayak   07 July 2021

Hello student, greetings of the day.
As per your query, I am answering it in two parts.