ashokj   18 November 2016

Which llb course is barred from practice??

Hi Frnds...im v new to this forum...Just heard one particular LLB course students are BARRED from practice. Which is that? Distance learning? Whether 3 year LLB course will be considered as Distance learning? Your info will be of great help..

kavksatyanarayana (subregistrar/supdt.(retired))     18 November 2016

3 year LLB distance education course is eligible.

Ms.Usha Kapoor (CEO)     19 November 2016

Distance LL.B course is barred from practice.,Bar Council of India doesnot recogniize such courses,..:I f  you appfrreciat e  this answe rplease convey my forumn thanks by clicking thanks.

» Today's Paper » EDUCATION PLUS
February 15, 2010

Bar Council of India does not recognise distance mode degrees

print   ·   T  T  

inShare

I am pursuing M.Tech in JNTU Anantapur. I want to do LLB in distance mode. Please provide me the details of colleges. Please suggest whether LLB or company secretary course will be good for me.

M Anand Sagar Reddy

The Bar Council accords no recognition for BL/LLB through distance mode or evening colleges for practicing as an advocate. If you want to practice as a lawyer you have to necessarily enrol in a recognised college or university and complete the three-year course in regular mode.

There are other alternate degrees, which will complement your engineering background.

National Academy of Legal Studies and Research (NALSAR) University of Law, Hyderabad, in collaboration with other recognised professional institutions in specialised areas offers one year PG Diplomas in Patents Law, Cyber Laws and Aviation Law and Air Transport Management.

Master's degree in Law of Financial Services and Capital Markets (two year course) was also recently introduced.

The objective of these courses is to help professionals to gain knowledge in various legal aspects, which they may have to deal in their sphere of work.

The programmes are so designed that a student can develop the acumen to understand any legal implications involved and be able to recognise any risk factors before hand.

For details visit https://nalsar.ac.in

Some universities offer non-professional courses of two-year duration leading to Bachelor of General Laws (BGL) or Bachelor of Academic Laws (BAL)

Madurai Kamaraj University, Directorate of Distance Education, Madurai, Tamil Nadu, offers two-year Bachelor Of General Law (BGL)

Eligibility: Any degree.

For details visit https://www.mkudde.org/

courses_prof.php

Company secretaries are experts in corporate governance; company law and they help the board of directors in meeting all the legal obligations and statutory provisions of law while managing business. Graduates can appear for the executive programme consisting of six papers and later take up the professional programme consisting of eight papers.

The course is offered in e-learning and distance mode. You may attend oral coaching classes conducted during specified periods.

Subjects you would have to study include basic economics and business environment, financial accounting, management accounting, company law, MIS, corporate secretarial practice, banking and insurance law, international trade, foreign collaborations and HR management.

Company secretary course is a professional course like medicine or engineering. It will require extreme hard work and dedication to be qualified as a company secretary. For details visit www.icsi.edu

I completed B.Tech (CSE) and would like to pursue a diploma in either management or multimedia in USA. I want to do diploma because of my low grades in engineering. Please guide me regarding the eligibility needed to pursue a diploma. Can I apply with +2 certificate? Will my low grades affect me in visa interview?

Amuktha Tummala

In the USA, there are several 100s of colleges and institutions offering diploma courses in many subjects. One has to be extremely careful in choosing to do a diploma course from abroad. You have first check the validity of the course – the recognition it has worldwide, is the course in demand in the market and after spending a huge sum will it help you to get a decent job?

You will have check with the concerned colleges that you intend to apply for after deciding on the course about what qualifying exam scores they will accept. GRE or GMAT is required apart from TOEFL.

Diploma course are generally of one-year duration and will usually not provide any chance for scholarship, so you will have to incur all the expenses from your side. Education in the US is expensive and you may have to be ready to spend any where up to Rs. 5 lakh to complete the course.

Visa issuing authorities will not look at your marks. They will assess your capacity to pay for your course and living there. Another fact they will consider is that you will return to India after you finish the study. India today has premier institutions offering job oriented diploma courses in several fields. As you are from CSE stream you can opt for a multimedia course from a reputed institute.

T. Muralidharan
TMI Network
(Queries for this column can be sent to collegian@thehindu.co.in)

inShare

Manipal Admissions 2017 - Leading Private University In India. 277+ Programs, 22+ Disciplines. Apply Now! manipal.edu