LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sherry C   01 July 2021

Parking inquiry in housing society

Hey guys, not sure if this is the right area but if anyone can help, it would be greatly appreciated.

- presently I live abroad. I have a flat in Mumbai in a housing society. I have parked my old car in the stilt parking. The parking lot was given to me by the builder as the construction was just over. That was more than 10 years back. The car is still there at the parking area. The people around in society ( basically the workers) have started keeping the water pipes and buckets etc under the car. They use these things to wash cars for the society members. And even after trying, it’s difficult to control them. Now society is worried about the mosquitoes and want me to remove the car. They are advising me to give the place to some other member of the society and charge them. They say that the person will remove the car when I sell the flat or come back to stay there. I have made up my mind to sell it once the COVID problem reduces. Can someone advice me on proper action I should take? 

Learning

7 Replies

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     01 July 2021

It is your own car, which you may sell it any time whenever you feel, no one else has any problem .

No legal issue is involved in the post.

Sherry C   01 July 2021

Actually, the problem is people in the society are storing things under the car, which has lead to mosquitoes and that has lead to other people in the society having issues. 

My question:

- Legally, isn’t the society responsible for keeping the area clean and prevent people from using my parking spot as storage? 
- legally, can the society force us to remove the car even though we are not at fault? We are NRI so we don’t live there all the time and COVID has made travel hard.