LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sagar kumar   27 April 2020

Second husband

I'm sagar from odisha now I'm a student I married a divorced woman she was 7 year younger then me & she was a job holder getting salary of 20.000/- she already claimed life Time recovery amount from his 1st husband and get the amount now our marriage life not going well if I want to divorce her can she again claim for Money from me like her 1st husband ?

Learning

5 Replies

Karishma Yadav   28 April 2020

Greetings!

Thank you for your question.

Maintenance is given by the person on whom the other person depends on. The amount of the maintenance is dependent on the earning of the person and the necessities which other person required and the necessities which a rational man needs to live a normal life.

Types of Maintenance-

1. Interim Maintenance- This maintenance is paid from the date of filing of the petition to the date of the dismissal of the suit.
  2. Permanent Maintenance- It is the amount which is been paid by one party to another after the judicial proceeding.

Maintenance of Wife under HAMA

As per Section 18(1) of Hindu Adoption and Maintenance Act, 1956 the wife is entitled to get the maintenance amount from her husband until she dies or he dies. The Hindu wife is also entitled to take get maintenance even if she lives separately from her husband under certain grounds.

Maintenance under CrPC

As per Section 125 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, only a woman either take divorce or given divorce by her husband and who hasn’t remarried any other man is entitled to get maintenance.

Under Section 125 of the Code of Criminal Procedure the person has to maintain:

1. His Wife, who unable to maintain herself.
  2. His Legitimate or illegitimate minor child whether married or not married, who unable to maintain itself.
  3. His father and mother, who unable to maintain themselves