LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Shashank   03 March 2017

Regarding forced divorce by wife who went abroad

I got married in Feb 2015 and got it registered on the same month in a register office in Chennai (Velachery. TN marriage act).  All the marriage expenses were shared equally by both me and my father in law. I am an engineer by profession. My wife is a doctor who wanted to do her higher studies for 2 years abroad and hence after staying together for 8 months (till November 18th 2015), she moved abroad. She is supposed to return on Dec 2017 to India to pursue her practice but now she says she wants to continue abroad and wants divorce from me. Our married life was quite normal in India except for occasional disputes (which are not major). Since, she wanted to go abroad, I wanted her to work in only one hospital but she wanted to work in two hospitals and so she joined two hospitals (one during day and the other for 3 to 4 hrs during evenings). Before marriage, I had given information to my father in law that I may also take a break after marriage to pursue my interests and hence I also applied to US universities for my doctorate. Unfortunately I couldn't get funding and hence joined for doctorate in India itself.