LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

vij   02 June 2016

How can i reduce maintenance.

My wife filed maintenance case. We dont have children.
I am an it professional. 
She did engineering and did job before marriage. after marriage she stopped working.

I have below questions
Is it true that we need to pay 1/3 rd of our salary.
How my income will be determined, is it based on current payslip or average salary of a year?
IT job is not permanent, If I loose job after some time, still do I need to pay?.
Is court has the right to ask my payslip from the company. 
I dont want to pay my hard earned  money to her. My mother, brother and sister(staying with my mom after marriage) are dependants on my income.
she filed false 498a case. so can i provide wrong payslip with low salary and submit in the court. will it be any issue.(My wife knows my salary)
Some says dont work and dont pay...How come we survive with out working?
What is best way to reduce the maintenance?
If she remarry is maintenance will be cancelled?

Learning

9 Replies

adv.bharat @ PUNE (Lawyer)     02 June 2016

As ur wife is engineering graduate and earn money she is not eligible to get maintenance.

saravanan s (legal advisor)     02 June 2016

If your wife is currently working and earning enough to lead a comfortable life then you dont need to pay otherwise you got to do.if you happen to lose your job while you are providing maintenance then you need to file a change in circumstances petition before the court.court can summon your employer to provide your salary and other required details.once she remarries she wont be entitled to receive maintenance from you

vij   05 June 2016

Thank you so much for every one for the sugesstions. I got below queries please clarify.

I have 2 lacs in shares and 1 lac in mutual funds in my demat account.
I dont want to show above asset in my maintainance case.