Ashok   31 May 2016

Legal heir's claim_daughter

My father passed-away without a Will, two years ago. And my brother does not want to give anything to me being a girl; although my father verbally committed to me to gift me some real-estate plots and a house. Recently, I was approached by my parental family, most likely my brother did that, with a letter like an NOC saying that I voluntarily give-up my share in my father’s factory. (My father's factory is worth several hundred crores.) That’s when I realized that my father did not write a Will. I investigated and found out that my brother has taken care of most of the things like cash, and maybe some other properties. I found that my father has 4.3% of shares in the factory in his name. The factory was started by my father in partnership with his younger brother and a friend. I checked the financial documents of the company and came to know that these shares might be worth about 3-3.5 crores. Being a legal heir I assume that i am entitled to one third (I have a brother and mother). And, I want to claim it. Also, my father has left one house (worth 7 crores) and an apartment (worth 70 lakhs). Also, there is another residential-plot ( worth about 3-4 crores) that is in litigation with the seller’s heirs. This house was purchased by my father and his younger brother. Apparently my brother and uncle won that case recently. I know this because when they won the case they wanted me to sign an application so that they could file it in higher court, if needed. Our's being a male-dominated family, girls are regarded as waste! I am pretty sure that my brother would not budge if I just request. Please advice how I should approach this issue and claim my part of the share as my father’s legal heir.

saravanan s (legal advisor)     31 May 2016

You are right about your share.you can file for a partition suit in the court to claim your share

Ashok   31 May 2016

Thanks for responding. 

What is the best way to proceed (like which court and under which law)? Also, how strong is my case; and in general how much time it takes to get a court decision? 

SAINATH DEVALLA (LEGAL CONSULTANT)     01 June 2016

As per Hindu Succession(Amendment )Act 2005, U are also class ! legal heir of UR father and U R entitled for an equal share in what ever properety that was owned by UR father.Never give any kind of NOC,that would reflect in UR claim.Without UR consent UR brother/brothers can't do anything with the assets.

Hence better consult a good competent family lawyer in UR place for further assistance.

Kappil Cchandna (Expert Bail & Criminal Defence Lawyer at Delhi Supreme Court of India)     01 June 2016

Mam, 

Don't wait to long if you apprehend that something wrong might be done to you, better seek a stay and injunction on the property as soon as you can. 

Warm Regards 

Kapil Chandna Advocate 

sudhakar (advocate)     01 June 2016

partition suit file in the court for your legal share