LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Cupid Cupid (CRM)     25 April 2016

Maintenance case by father

DO NOT JUDGE MY BY BELOW QUERIES. I AM OF COURSE TAKING CARE OF MY MOTHER. HOWEVER, MY MOTHER HAS APPROACHED THE COURT FOR JUSTICE AND NOW MY FATHER IS HARASSING ME. I HAVE LEFT HOME LONG AGO AND NOT IN CONTACT WITH MY FATHER. HE IS RELATED TO ME ONLY BILOGICALLY; IT IS MY MOTHER WHO HAS LOOKED AFTER ME ALONG WITH HER RELATIVES AND NOT MY FATHER.

Dear Experts,

Requesting guidance on below scenario, please.

I am born in Hubli (in Karnataka state). However, I have been working in an MNC in Bangalore for over 9 Years now. I am from a family of 4: Father, Mother, Older Sister and Me. Older siste is a govt servant, father has a private business and mother is not employed. Due to domestic issues, I have left home for over 9+ years now. Now, it has come to my notice that my mother file a maintenance case on my fahter. And my father in trun has filed a case on me for maintenace to harass me.

Scenario: I dont think my father knows my residence address since I am no longer in contact with him for many years now. He might have sent a notice to my office address. Also to note, my older siste is govt employee.

Fact and Question 1: My father and mother has a self made / acquired property. Since my father has declared he has no earning, my mother has filed a partition case as well for which my father is avoiding to take the notice from court. My understanding, they can sell the property (min value 20 Lacs), deposit the cash in bank and take a house on rent and live off form the interest money. Is that possible? If Yes, father cannot claim maintenance from me - right? Please educate me on this.