LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Subha Datta (STudent)     01 October 2014

Should i file divorce?

10 days After our marriage( we got married in dec, 2013 ) I left India for US as I am a researcher here in US. For some reason, I started doubting my wife. and she left my parental home after 4 months and living with her parents. Now she wants divorce from me. I don't know if she goes for 498 or simple divorce case or CrPC 125 and HMA 24. Now my question is:

1) She doesn't know my address as I have never given her my address in US. So, if my parents don't accept courts notice, will it go against me? 

2) If she sends the notice to my work place will it be accepted as notice served?

3) If I accept the notice, should I have to go back to India?

4) How much maintenance she can get from me when I earn $2000/month? Though she has no proof of that. Can the court ask me to submit my income proof? Can I avoid that ? What will happen if I don't give my income details to court or if I don't attend the case? 

5) If I file a divorce case before her file will it somehow give me relief?

6) Should I leave it for expertee or contest ? If she agrees for mutual divorce taking some money will it be a good idea to accept it? 

7) How much amour is good enough to agree for ? What you think?

8) If I file RSR will it help me? 

Learning

7 Replies

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     01 October 2014

Engage a local lawyer and seek paid consultancy services which you can afford, isn't it?

Sunil Kumar (IT)     01 October 2014

Hello vashista, Anybody who posts question in this forum will engage a local lawyer.. they all just asking some opinion from the experts here.. If you don't know to answer or don't wish to answer.. better keep quite.. pls don't post useless answers..

bhagwat patil (Property due diligence 9422773303)     01 October 2014