Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

subbu (dds)     02 August 2014

Letter of administration or succession certificate

Hi,

My father died in 2010 without a will in Mumbai . We are 3 brother & Sister & my Mom .

I hold a flat in powai mumbai  with my name as first holder & my father as the 2nd holder, i had included his name as joint holder for loan eligibility.  My father also had a land in Tamil Nadu in his own name.

There is another flat in mumbai which is disputed with the company & his gratuity payments & company dues are not settled.

The question is now i want to convert my powai flat from joint to single, which my sisters have no issue. The land in tamil nadu needs to be transferred to my mother name & then disposed off.

Do we Need to take Succession Certificate or Letter of Administration

If Powai property needs to transferred to me & Tamil nadu to my mom, do we need to apply for individual Letter of administration which mean double the cost

My Sister is of view to take LoA in my mother name for both Powai & the land

Can anyone guide how do i proceed ahead. Its seems to be a confusion with the entire process.

Subbu

Learning

14 Replies

Anish Thakur 7018812737 (advocate)     03 August 2014

After your fathers death the property is going to be distrubuted among his class one heairs i.e. children and wife.Any legal heir can reliquish his right in property to any one by way of reliquishment deed which is simple  and at no extra cost.

1 Like

K.K.Ganguly (Advocate)     03 August 2014

1. For immoveable property, you shall have to collect legal heir certificate from Tehshilder,

2. After asertaining who are the legal heirs of  your father's property, all of you can make settlement of the properties and execute and register settlement Deed accordingly.

2 Like

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     03 August 2014