Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Shahz Shahz (SSE)     01 March 2014

Salary never paid on time, Quit without any notice period.

Hi Good Day All,

I'm a Sofware engineer. I'm working with my current employer for the past 4 months, and now in probation period. On joining HR told me salary date was on 7th every month. But salary was never paid on time , they paid me on 27th, 15th, 20th and last month not paid at all.. 

On job offer letter it is stated that on probation period employer can fire me at any time without prior notice or pay. But if I had to leave I should serve 2 months notice period or pay them 2 months salary. And once if I submitted my resignation they will pay salary of 2 months only with Full & Final settlement.

(this point was not mentioned in offer letter). 

I got a good offer from another firm. I told them my situation, and they don't mind about experience or relieving certificates of present company. (I have Total 7 years exp) They want to join me as soon as possible. I wanted to know what consequences I may face if I quit without any notice period.

I have a family depends on me. 

Thanks for reading .. waiting for your valuable suggestions. 

Learning

6 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     01 March 2014

Such matters are best resolved by applying goodwill, rapport and exceptional levels of persuasion, persistence, negotiation, reasoning skills, and must build favorable record in writing and generate irrefutable evidence.

However if employer or its employees in line management, HR are vindictive, rigid and bent on stepping on toes of employee then employee should not hesitate to approach Trade Unions, Lawyer/law firm, Lawful authority, along with elders in the family.

You may obtain the assurances given by next employer preferably in writing or submit carefully structured minutes of discussion in writing.

Defend your interest in best possible manner.