Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

hard throb (freelance)     23 September 2013

Please help me with guidance

Hello Friends

My wife and I have been staying separately since last quarter of 2011, after she deserted me . She left a letter stating her dis-satisfaction from our mediocre lifestyle and marriage.  No contact since she left me .

After a year of separation i approached her over email for divorce by mutual consent. Her first response was she was ok with the proposal and asked me to file the petition. When i sent her a draft sample of  what i was intending to file, she responded back with a 98 item list of fictiuous items such as crockery, dresses, etc and asked for an alimony amount of 25 lakhs along with Streedhan jewellery claim. Although she had taken all the jewellery and left.

Thereafter I have filed for Divorce during March 2013 . No false 498 case been filed against me.

First 2 hearings - No legal representation from her side ; i filed for ex-parte decree during 2nd hearing

3rd hearing - she denied all charges in my petition and maintained claim on streedhan list 

4th hearing - her lawyer requested for extension of date as petitioner was on vacation

As of now, the next hearing date has not been set.

Please help me to figure out a way ahead , as I would like to close the divorce on mutual grounds without any alimony. And within a reasonable date .

Thank you

Learning

11 Replies

ANAMIKA VICHARE (LAWYER)     23 September 2013

If your wife is working or educated, she is likely not get maintenance...dont insist for mutual go on for hearing

you will get decree of divorce...I suppose u hv filed onthe ground of cruelty only as yr desertion ground got away as you asked for divorce before filing and did not make efforts for restitution...hence only ground of cruelty...you must be able to prove

keep watch on yr wife's activity,her mobile calls trace out

Anamika Vichare

Advocate, High Court