LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Mukund (Manager)     30 May 2013

Mutual divorce and custody of children

Respected Advocate, I am an IT professional and a divorcee. Me and my ex spouse got divorce by mutual consent in the year 2004. We have a son out of the brief wedlock born in year 2000. It was agreed between we two that the custody of our son will be handed over to me after she gets married. She told me way back in mid 2005 about her remarriage but she did not hand me over the custody of our son. I sent her legal notice but she did not tell me about her whereabouts and refused to handover the custody. I have not been allowed to meet my son since last 10 years approx. From my side, I did not legally ask for custody of my son. I used to pay her money every month as per the court decree till she got married for maintenance of my son, which I stopped paying after she told me about her remarriage. I am still alone and did not remarry yet, but planning to marry soon. I have not identified my would be partner yet. I receive a lot of marriage proposals, but they are concerned about my ex and my son from my first marriage creating any trouble in the future about property about overall success of my second marriage. Is there any real possiblity of this happening in future?. Request you to please answer my question in detail quoting some judgements of high court of supreme court if you can. Thank you very much, With best regards, Vikas

Learning

7 Replies

Adv Archana Deshmukh (Practicing Advocate)     30 May 2013