Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Rohit D (Employed)     23 May 2013

Mutual divorce and custody of children

Respected Experts,

I am a resident of Mumbai and looking for an advice from the experts on my issue.

I am bachelor and my age is 29 and i earn decent money from doing various jobs like filing the returns  for my clients, helping to create a passport etc. I am taking care of my unemployed married sister,  who has 2 kids and is seeking to get divorced on mutual understanding with her husband who has been cruel to all three of them hence she is staying with us. Now, he is ready to pay some amount in cash. 

So, my question is what happens to the kids (one daughter - age 15yrs and son - age 10yrs) of my sister, whether my sister has to look after the kids at her own expenses or she can claim for the same after the divorce. What about the custody of children? because my brother in law is not ready to take the custody of them.

Please advice.

Learning

11 Replies

Adv Archana Deshmukh (Practicing Advocate)     23 May 2013

Even if the father of the children is not willing to take their custody, he cannot avoid the responsibility to maintain them. Your sister can claim maintainance for both the kids. She can claim for their maintainance even now, there is no need to wait till divorce.

Advocate M.Bhadra   23 May 2013