Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

rajoo (exec)     25 January 2013

Wife refusing to do a job, is it cruelty to husband?

Dear sir,

pls give your kind advice on my topic, my wife has filed a sec 125 maintainaince case on me and asked for rs 20000 per month, claiming my salary is rs 35000, in actual, my salary is rs 18000 pm.

she is more qualified than me, she is M.com and pursuing MBA, i am a Bcom graduate. i had requested her time and again to take a job as it is difficult to survive with only one person earning in todays date, however she flatly denied to work anywhere, and just wanted to stay at home doing nothing, she has passed some competitive exams also, being very intelligent, but she just wants to survive as a parasite on my income.

i had take her to the CAW cell as she used to threaten me of filing false cases if i dont give her money to spend. reluctantly i agreed to pay her rs 3000 pm,, besides i was also paying the houserent of Rs 3500pm. the CAW cell has recorded mine as well as her statement in writing.

I want to know that can asking a wife to do a job for support be cruelty on her? and her flat refusal for doing a job and insisting on surviving on husbands money, and wifully refusing to work anywhere, and on top of that threatening me with false cases, and going futher and filing sec 125 on me, will it be grounds of cruelty on me as a husband?

can i use this as a ground for cruelty on me? also since i have agreed to pay reluctantly in front of caw cell that i will pay rs 3000 pm for  her expenses and also rent of rs 3500? will i have to now pay it? will the court force me to pay rs 6500 in total?

actually i was threatened to make this payment of Rs 3000 by my wife, she threatened that she will make my life miserable if i dont payup.