Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Naresh Jamadagni (Engineer)     22 May 2012

Buying a house which is under loan

Hi,

I am a saleried professional. I have located a property to buy in bangalore. The present owner has taken home loan on the property. and has repaid little portion of the loan. My questions are as follows.

1. How do i need to proceed legally to buy this house.

2. I am planning to continue the loan he has taken  by transferring the loan to my name. Is it possible.

3. When can the house be registered in my name. Can the registration happen as soon as i take over the loan?

Please help.

Thanks

Naresh

Learning

4 Replies

A V Vishal (Advocate)     22 May 2012

1. How do i need to proceed legally to buy this house.

Ans. Meet the banker without whose consent the property cannot be sold or transferred on your name.

2. I am planning to continue the loan he has taken by transferring the loan to my name. Is it possible.

Ans. It is the banker's discretion whether to continue or close the loan account, much depends on your eligibility criteria for a loan.

3. When can the house be registered in my name. Can the registration happen as soon as i take over the loan?

Ans. Yes, the registration can be immediate provided one of the two occurs as discussed in Point 2

1 Like

Naresh Jamadagni (Engineer)     22 May 2012

Thanks a lot vishal for your opinion. 

S Jadhav 98336 98330 (Jadhav & Associates)     23 May 2012

One cannot continue a loan given to someone else.

The procedure is that the bank will assess your eligibilty for a home loan for the amount you may wish to take which oculd be more or less than the current balance laon amount.