LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Bobby Gulati (Self)     23 March 2012

Domestic violence, divorce and custody

Hello to all the experienced people here on this forum.

I am writing from Naihati, West Bengal.

I have a query regarding Shalini who is my friend who has finally decided to ring the bell on her 'monsterous' family.

I am not a lawyer, but I am aware that the law just understands facts and evidence. Hence, I am going to cut to the chase by providing facts that are relevant to the topic at hand and try not to be emotional about it.

Shalini has told me her story and I chose to believe her seeing the ugly scars that were caused 'unexplainably'.

A few days ago she also was admitted at a Govt. Hospital since her uterus had sustained injury in the last beating that she received from this erratic. She also has the relevant medical reports regarding the same.

Here are some bare-bone facts.

1) They are married more than 9 years.

2) They have a 6+ year old child. She chose to stick on and face the usual beatings, verbal abuses and mental trauma for the well being of her child and now, she doesn't want to do it anymore.

3) Her husband is unemployed.

4) Shalini is employed.

5) The husband refuses to grant divorce.

6) Shalini's husband has a pending case of violence (with someone else) at a local court.

7) Shalini's mother who is employed (fearing the loss of her grandchild due to custody issues) has chosen to take the side of the abusive husband due to her own weaknesses as to who would get custody.

8) Shaini's husband beats up Shalini in front of her child.

9) The husband has totally brain-washed the child into thinking that Shalini is a very bad person though the child appears visually scared of the father due to the father's demands and tantrums.