Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

KALAVAMPARA (ADVOCATE)     03 December 2011

Incorrect tan in tds

Dear friends,

I need advice for the following problem in TDS

I am a group A officer of Govt of India,VSSC. My employer has given me a TDS certificate for Rs 81988 under section 203 of IT act for salaries for period from 1-4-2008 to 31-3-2009 on 14-5-2009  by quoting an incorrect employer TAN no TVDVI00171D. I had filed return on 28-7-2009. The correct TAN No is TVDI00171D. But this defect was not noticed by me when I received a notice under sec 143(1) of IT Act on 23-12-2010 for a tax demand of  Rs 102242 (Rs 81988+20254interest) with a remark “TDS CLAIM NOT GRANTED AS YOUR TAX DEDUCTOR HAS NOT UPLOADED TDS DETAILS IN NSDL”. So I gave a copy of original TDS certificate to local IT office at trivandrum to set right this issue and the officer told me it will settle in due course. Now I found that  tax refund of Rs 19940 due to me for financial year 2010-11 was adjusted by IT dept CPC towards the tax interest of Rs 20254 said above  and a nil refund has been ordered. When I checked my 26As statement there is no entry for TDS for this period.

Now only I noticed this incorrect TAN in my TDS certificate. Now what I should do  further to settle this issue? I understand that Government deductors are using book entry for crediting to government account and not by 26as

Thanks in advance

SUNIL

Learning

5 Replies

Sadashiv Rupchand Gaikwad (Partner)     07 December 2011

You may ask to revised upload Quarterly eTDS return of your Employer, then 26As shows tax credit by your Employer.

1 Like

C. P. CHUGH (Practicing Lawyer)     08 December 2011

Yes, you have to request your employer to upload their TDS returns with correct TAN and once it is done you would find credit in your 26AS statement and would have to request for refund errornously adjusted against the now non-existent demand.

1 Like

KALAVAMPARA (ADVOCATE)     09 December 2011