Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Frustrated with Justice (individual)     04 July 2011

Pitfalls in converting contested divorce to mutual consent??

I have been fighting a contested divorce for five years now. However, it may take few more years given the speed of Indian courts. To settle for a mutual consent divorce my 'wife' is asking a huge alimony (I have to take loan from relatives).

But anyways, if I go for mutual consent, these are my concerns:

1) I hear that I have to withdraw or convert my present contested divorce application to a mutual consent application. I cannot keep it on hold, in case she backtracks.

2) She has six months to change her mind and can withdraw consent even after taking say half the agreed alimony amount.

3) If she withdraws her consent, I have to file a fresh contested divorce application and all the five years of case till now will go waste.

4) She can even change her written statement in the new case. Presently there are contradictions in her WS which we can exploit.

Are the above statements correct?

Is there a way to ensure that she cannot change her consent once she has signed and received part of the alimony?

Thanks.

Learning

6 Replies

rahul (director)     04 July 2011

once she recd half or 1/3rd of agreed amt, then she can not backtrack, and even ifm, she.. then she will refund the amount taken from you with some  penalty clouse.

6 month only given with the view that if both are partner willing to join again.

there is supreme court judgment that once the matter is resolved with some settlement agrement and wife already accepted some consideration, then she can not backout, she have to face criminal case on breach of settlement agrement.

in these case you have to deposit the remain may in coout and court will grant divorce in your favour.. please consult you lawyers on this point.

1 Like

Tajobsindia (Senior Partner )     04 July 2011