Swami Sadashiva Brahmendra Sar (Nil)     11 June 2011

Lying is no offence

Gist of Laws:

"Lying is no offence except in the situations enumerated by the legislature."

Is above statement incorrect? Kindly suggest more exceptions.

Sarvesh Kumar Sharma Advocate (Advocacy)     11 June 2011

sir jee,

good morning!

in my view either this is an incomplete sentence  or   this is correct that lying is no offence!

based upon circumstances , and the angle in which mode we are see that lyind!

Arup (UNEMPLOYED)     11 June 2011

yes sarvesh ji correct.

- based upon circumstances.

the most used lye in the world is -

I  LOVE  YOU.

perhaps nobody punished for it.

lying is punishable offence, where it is done with affidevit.

in case of criminal offences, lying at court or police is punishable offence.

laws and morals are two different things, sadly

Dipangkar (Business)     14 June 2011

The Offensive Judgements of Lying can be based upon it useage.

We use to read about "White Lie" in our schooling days......A Lie that is applied to protect a Good cause etc.

shouldn't be termed as an Offence.

Next, the interpretation of a Lie can also be based upon it's interpreter's view of the statement..

Example : Sri Krishna said to his Mother "MAAYA MOORE, MEINNEHI MAAKHAN KHAIYO"

Now if you take it as " MAAYA MOORE, MAIN   NEHI   MAAKHAN KHAIYO" , It comes out as "Mom, I did not eat the Butter"

Again if you take it as " MAAYA MOORE, MAINNE   HI   MAAKHAN KHAIYO", It comes out as "Mom, I ate the Butter"

Lol, see how the simple Space made such a big difference in the interpreter's view of the same statement. Smart Krishna... Hmmm...

Sarvesh Kumar Sharma Advocate (Advocacy)     14 June 2011

MAIN   NEHI 

MAINNE   HI   .

wah wah wah..............dipankar ji what's example!

Dipangkar (Business)     14 June 2011

Thank you Sarvesh Ji, i am flattered.