LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sumer   08 January 2017

Threat from wife of brother

Hi, I'm an Indian Jain student, studying doctorate in europe. My brother (jain) got married to a girl (SC caste) five years ago in a court, at that time both were working in Indian Army. After one year of pressure from the girl and her father my brother arranged a (cover up) social marriage at their native place (Gaon). The moment they got married me and my mother (my father deceased many years ago) were asked not to live with my brother as she kept on threatening my brother that she will either fill a lawsuit or she/her father (retired army officer) will kill all of us. So, I and my mother never went to their place and they used to come to our home once in a year that too for not more than days. 

Me and mother went to them once and planned to stay there for 7 days, but she created a brawl and we're ashamed to leave the place on the very 4 days.

After that incident my bhabhi only came to our place twice (5 days). 

This year I got an admission in europe and i came here, while my brother asked my mother to stay with him. As expected, within 10 days she started beating my mother (we've photos of swelling on my mother's leg, broken furniture, her violent actions). While she keep on threating us that she and his father will file a lawsuit against my mother, brother, and ME as well? My brother took this situation to their seniors of the station where after so many discussion the officer asked all of to sort it out in civil court.

My questions are: 

1. Can she make me a victim (in her petition for domestic violence or something like this) or somehow legally force me to come back to India, which I think is only because of her malicious intents?
2. My brother wants to file a divorce against her as she is becoming more violent and not ready to live with my mother.