LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Ajay (Software Developer)     28 December 2011

Termination

I have been working with a Delhi Based IT Company since July 2010. During my Job confirmation they told me that I would have to sign a bond for 1 year and if I leave the company without giving a 2 months’ notice period I will have to pay 2 months’ salary. But the bond was never signed and these conditions are not mentioned in confirmation letter as well. Many of the employees have leaved the company due to late salaries for last 6-7 months and other issues with the companies policies. Now on November 19, 2011 Company terminated our services stating (verbally) you are being fired from the company, after having debate with the management. After not receiving any information for 2 days, when I contacted them they asked me to send my resignation.  Besides this they are also saying that my full and final settlements will be done after 45 days of resignations. The Company was also deducting Rs. 2,000.00 per month from my salary. Now I want to know is this 45 days time is legal? And am I eligible to get all that deducted money in case company fires me? And do I will have to pay 2 months’ salary if I reassign because my 1 year is not complete in the company.

Learning

3 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     28 December 2011

You have posted:

-"But the bond was never signed and these conditions are not mentioned in confirmation letter as well."

Hence there is no bond. Company might have mentioned in the confirmation letter that other terms and conditions mentioned in the appointment letter shall continue to prevail. Hence you should refer to your confirmation letter and appointment letter. If there is any notice period and you resign without Notice Company shall deduct notice pay.

The whole drama seems to lower the financial burden on the company by taking the ill informed employees for a ride.