LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Amber (Project Manager)     13 May 2014

Specific power of attorney revocation

I have a flat in Mumbai for which I had executed a specific power of attorney in the name of a broker. Since I am not staying in India so I had executed this POA for rental purpose. The POA was registered in Goregaon registrar office.

Can you pls help in the below.

(a) How can I revoke the power of attorney while being outside of India

(b) if I do another specifc power of attorney in somebody else's name, would the above power of attorney will become automatically void or cancelled?

(c) the POA doesn't have any clause such as revocable or irrevocable. so in which category would POA fall in?

(d) broker is also having another power of attorney which was not notarized around a year back. However, i am worried he might misuse that one. any guidance how that can be avoided.

help appreciated

Regards

Learning

7 Replies

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     13 May 2014

It is Special and not specific POA.

Ans to your question

How can I revoke the power of attorney while being outside of India

Execute cancellation of POA, get it notarised there itself (where you are residing) get it attested by area SDM in Mumbai.  

(b) if I do another specifc power of attorney in somebody else's name, would the above power of attorney will become automatically void or cancelled?

No, it would not become void or cancelled being independant to newly executed POA

(c) the POA doesn't have any clause such as revocable or irrevocable. so in which category would POA fall in?

Generally POA donot contain any such covenant, it is always revocable.

(d) broker having POA has to be cancelled by a declaratory suit in the court

Mahesh R. Sonawane (Lawyer/Fight for justice)     13 May 2014

I am agree with..Dr. Vashista sir...

Mobin Sayed (Lawyer)     13 May 2014