Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Pankaj Yadav (MT)     29 August 2013

Salary of undue delay in joining

Hello,

I am a Management Trainee at a Central PSU. I went home on a casual leave(approved in advance) of 7 days from 16th april to 23rd april. I wrote a letter addressed to my General Manager (through my project officer, who is the immediate senior) asking for 3-month's(from 24th april to 24th july) extra ordinary leave without pay for my mother's treatment.I did not get any reply but from other sources i came to know that the leave has been granted by project officer itself.I came back on 4th july (only 71 days although leave was for 90 days)

When I came back I gave an application to my project for allowing me to resume my service.My project officer marked it to personal officer of my unit.People of personnel department believed that It was NOT in powers of project officer to grant Extraordinary-leave-without-pay and it is only Director (personnel) who can grant such leaves.So they treated my case as an absentism (which was actually not , since my project officer granted my leave and it was in his powers also which I later came to know of)and initiated a Notesheet for allowing me to join the duty.

Notesheet reached to HOD(Executive Establishment)through proper channel.HOD(EE) queried again to my unit whether any leave was granted to me or not.to which they replied that no leave was granted(although my leave application had written "Granted" on it by my project officer).

HOD presented the case to Director(Pers.) for necessary action.Director (personnel) consulted HOD(Legal) in this matter and HOD Legal's reply was

"Sri. xxxxx was absent from duty from 24th april to 3rd july.Not Allowing him to join is unlawful and he should be allowed to resume his duties immediately"(Although i read this reply unofficially and i have no copy of it.)

Final Letter from HOD(EE) to my GM (i have a copy) reads: