LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

balasaheb bhosale (PROPRIETOR)     03 April 2010

CAN ADVOCATE PRACTICE AS C.A.also

i have previosly practising advocate on august 2009 passed the C.A. exam and applie dfor COP  CA institute granted to practic both but i want opnion of Bar Council Of Maharastra & goa Wether they grant me to practice as an Advocate

Learning

18 Replies

A V Vishal (Advocate)     03 April 2010

You are barred under the Bar Council of India rules from practising 2 professions simenteneously.

adv. rajeev ( rajoo ) (practicing advocate)     03 April 2010

No. Either one of the profession you will have to choose.

DISHA D. SHAH (lawyer)     03 April 2010

you have to choose one of them

Surya Kannt (ADVOCATE)     03 April 2010

yes, i agree with dishaben d. shah

you have to choose one of them

Gundlapallis (Advocate)     04 April 2010

I am also a cost accountant but i choose law for practice - anyone can sail in one boat only, cannot sail in two boats the same time!

Not only the BCI (Bar council of India) even the ICAI will not give you CoP when you are a registered Bar Member.

A V Vishal (Advocate)     04 April 2010

Mr Gundlapallis

You are mistaken ICAI allows practising two professions, it has amended its rules.

Mr. Vishal Ji : I cant believe it until i check it myself.  Will comeback after checking.

190A. Chartered accountant in practice not to engage in any other business or occupation

A chartered accountant in practice shall not engage in any business or occupation other than the

profession of accountancy, except with the permission granted in accordance with a resolution of

the Council.

191. Part-time employments a chartered accountant in practice may accept

Notwithstanding anything contained in regulation 190A but subject to the control of the Council, a

chartered accountant in practice may act as a liquidator, trustee, executor, administrator, arbitrator,