SHARAD CHANDRA DANEJ (Asstt. Manager)     10 August 2010

Property in minor's name

My brother-in-law a purchased a property in the name of his minor son whose age is around 5 years.  The property was purchased 2 years back. Now my brother-in-law has to repay the loan which he availed for business purpose. Kindly let me know if my brother-in-law can sell the property which he purchased in the name of his only minor son who is about 5-6 years old now.

SHARADCHANDRA DANEJ.

Adv Archana Deshmukh (Practicing Advocate)     10 August 2010

A property standing in the name of a minor can be sold only with the previous permission of the court.

SHARAD CHANDRA DANEJ (Asstt. Manager)     12 August 2010

Dear Adv Archana,

Thanks for the reply. But does court give the permission to sell the property as the property has been purchased by the minor's father and now he is overburdened with the repayment of loans because his earning capacity has temporarily gone down. I hope court should have no objection in giving permission to sell the property. What are requirements court need to give permission documentwise.

SHARADCHANDRA DANEJ

raj kumar ji (LAW STUDENT )     12 August 2010

i agree with adv,archna