Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Richard D'souza (Quality Analyst)     11 August 2012

Passport issue - please help

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I have a very unique issue and no one has been able to help me so far. I sincerely hope any of you could help me.

My name is Richard D'souza. I was born in Kuwait on 10 June 1986. I came to India in Jan 1987 on my own passport (I was not endorsed on my Dad's passport, I had a seperate one). I have been in India ever since.

The passport that I came to India on was lost some time in 1997-98 during house shifting. Now I'm unable to make a new passport. The Public relations office at the PP office told me that they need proof of how I came to India. They want the passport number atleast.

I tried contacting the Indian embassy in Kuwait but go to response. I even asked one of my friends to go to Kuwait. They told him all the documents were destroyed in the gulf war.

I this situation I'm unable to make a passport.The Public relations officer says a police complain and a lost passport affidavit is not enough as i was born outside India.

My dad and mom are both Indian Citizens born and brought up in India so I'm assuming I'm an Indian Citizen by descent.

If anyone can help me or offer some advise I would be ever obliged. If you need any details please send me a private message.

Learning

2 Replies

Anish Thakur 7018812737 (advocate)     11 August 2012

dear querist,

its a big mistake on behalf of your parents that you are still not applied for the indian citizenship as generally indian citizen is gained by birth but you was not born in india so you were deprived from it but you can apply for this thru your parents status and your time duration as you spent in india from year 87.although you have lost that passport you made during your time of visit to india from kuwait ,you have to follow follwing things now-