LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Apu (Officer)     25 April 2018

Open bank account in portugal

I am a resident Indian possess an Indian Passport. I have a foreign trade license. I have a corporate bank account in India but. I want to open a bank account in Portugal.so that I can make all transactions easily. Will it be legal if so what is the procedure and how to go about it. Thanks

Learning

2 Replies

SIVARAMAPRASAD KAPPAGANTU (Retired Manager)     25 April 2018

1. As a resident Indian in personal capacity, you can open account in a foreign country and transfer funds upto a sum equalivalent to USD 250,000- per annum to such account. It comes under Liberalised Remittance Scheme known as LRS.  However, you have to produce form 15CA and 15 CB to the Banker through whom you are transferring the amount to your foreign currency account.

The above is only in "Personal Capacity" for personal requirements only and not in your business capacity or for your business purpose.

2. In case you wish to open a Foreign Currency account outside the country, you need specific permission from RBI as noted below:

1. A person resident in India, being an exporter who has undertaken a construction contract or a turnkey project outside India or who is exporting services or engineering goods from India on deferred payment terms may open, hold and maintain a Foreign Currency Account with a bank outside India, provided that -
  2. approval as required under the Foreign Exchange Management (Export of goods and services) Regulations, 2015 has been obtained for undertaking the contract/ project/ export of goods or services, and

3. the terms and conditions stipulated in the letter of approval have been duly complied with.