Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Rahul (officer)     05 August 2012

Nri income tax

Hi there

I am a UK resident for the last 6 yrs and have been paying my taxes in UK for the income I earn at source.

Every year I remit money from UK to India and make investments in FD, however I opened up fixed deposits in saving account, I have realised this mistake. Most of my deposits are in saving account which were created in 2011 and only a few in NRO which I made in 2012. 

Currently I transfer any FD interest I get which is related to saving is transferred to NRO account.  

I am not sure what is the corrective step of action; do I close all my fixed deposits which are in saving account and transfer to NRO and open new FD’s? Or leave them and let them mature and ensure new FD are opened in NRO?

I have been filing my tax return every year and paid the necessary tax according to the tax slab.(along with FD details). What is the experts opinion?

I have also few deposits as corporate deposits which is maturing next year which I invested in 2010 but declared as a local resident which I feel it is wrong. I have stopped making any new corporate deposits, all corporate deposits mature in 2013.

Last question relates to my PPF account which I opened in 2002, as I understand it has matured in 2012 and I cannot make any  further investment, however I can choose to keep it open for another 5 yrs with a small deposit of Rs 500 every year, please advise if my understanding is correct.

I would really appreciate if any of you can advise what the correct step is as I feel my hard earned money will be taken due to my ignorance. 

Appreciate your time and help

Thanks

Learning

5 Replies

R RAJAGOPALAN (ADVOCATE)     09 August 2012

The query is not fully comprehensible. However it appears none of the queries is related to income tax.