Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

498a victim (job)     22 July 2017

Need help in dv case

Respected all,

My wife has filed DV case in march 2017, i got summons in may 2017 and yesterday 21/07/2017 was the date and now judge is forcing me to file the WS, saying that this is your last chance to file the same,

The question is that the this is pending for Quashing in High court and notice has been issued to opp. and date is given on 10/08/2017,

if on next that i bring this notice to judge, than also can he force me to file the WS?

Learning

9 Replies

Rishi kumar   22 July 2017

I am not a lawyer. But still I post here because I have benefitted from all these postings. First of all, understand that fling a written statement benefits you. I don't think many judges will even ask you to file one. DV is all about money. She is going to ask you interim maintenance and in case you don't file an objection regarding your income or expenses, the judge will have no option other than sanctioning whatever she greedily demands. And contest all her charges if false. Once you start paying a high maintenance your case is as good as lost. Remember, DV is the worst thing not even 498a. In 498a , you don't have to spend money apart from bail and court visits. So quickly hire a lawyer, and file WS. 

Siddharth Srivastava (Advocate)     22 July 2017

As the law presecribe limitation for filing WS hence court was right in directing you to file your WS. It seems that you have appeared personally without taking assistance of a lawyer. It is in your interest that you file your WS otherwise your defence shall be struck of. The proceeding under 482 Cr. P. C. is separate and distinct and filing of WS would not  adversely affect your case in High Court. 

498a victim (job)     22 July 2017