Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Aman (Sales Ececutive)     05 May 2013

Marriage anullment or divorce

Hello Sir,

I got married to my wife in GOA in May 2012. At that point of time, i was residing in Dubai and so was my wife to be. i spoke to a lawyer there and he said he can arrange for a residency ceritificate from the local panchayat and that way we can get married.

So, he arranged for that certificate which stated that i had been staying in GOA for the previous 18 months, but i was not. After that, we got our marriage registered.

However, now we both want to go our seperate ways and want to end our alliance.

My question is, based on the forged residency certificate, can we get the marriage anulled? Or is divorce the only option. If we do need to get divorce, do we have to get it in GOA only or anywhere in India.

Thanks in advance!

Learning

6 Replies

ajay sethi (lawyer)     05 May 2013

1) marriage was solemnised in goa and registered in Goa .residency certifcate was issued by local panchayat that you are residing in goa .

2) if both parties want to end marriage then go in for divorce by mutual consent . it is necessary that both should be staying separate for one year for filing divorce by mutual consent .

3) you can  file for divorce in goa or at the place in india wherein you  resided  together .

FILING OF PETITION

Every petition shall be present to the District Court within the jurisdiction of which

1. The marriage was solemnized.
  2. The other party at the presentation of the petition resides; or
  3. The parties to the marriage last resided;
  4. Where the petitioner is residing at the time of presentation of the petition in case the other party is residing outside the territories to which the Act extends or has not been heard of as being alive for a period of seven years or more

Aman (Sales Ececutive)     06 May 2013

Dear Mr. Ajay Sethi,