LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

poppu (none)     15 March 2011

Legal issues with first cousin marriage

I am 28 yrs old and my husband is 32 yrs old ..We both are first cousins(father's brother son) and married in 2008 without the knowledge of our parents. We both fell in love so deeply and just didnt want anyone to separate us so we married as per hindu customs in a temple and then registered our marriage. We never knew any legal implications that would cause because there was no form which explained about this prohibited relationship while signing in front of registrar..Morover we just didnt want to be separated. He was working in a reputed company in India and I am a software professional. After we got married,we didnt tell this to our parents because we didnt want them to hate us so we continued to talk with them as usual..Meanwhile I got a chance to go to USA so I took my husband in a dependant visa and he was here..My parents got so much worried of my future and started to blackmail me emotionally ,we both were so upset and he left to London.From that day till now we are just continuing to live only in phone... Its so hard for us but still cant take any step to tell my parents..Almost everyday I talked with my dad and mom and tried to convince them and now they knew I am deeply in love with him but they can never allow it.. Our problems started then..now they started to threaten me..

1. They say they are going to complain against my husband that he is after my money..We have all his direct deposit bank statements from his employer from UK so Iam not afraid but my husband says they will favour only my parents

2. My dad threatens to kill my husband.

3. He says even if we got married thats illegal and we both will end up in jail and they are threatening to complaint in the police station that we are illegally married.